The Canadian Lung Association announces 2015-16 Board of Directors

Anne Marie Downey, Chair of the CLA Board of Directors

Ottawa – The Canadian Lung Association is pleased to announce the election of Anne Marie Downey as the Chair of its national Board of Directors at its annual general meeting in June.

Ms. Downey has been a long-time volunteer for The Lung Association. She has served as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Alberta and NWT Lung Association. A member of the national board since 2012, Ms. Downey has acted as Vice Chair and has been a tireless leader on the Association’s revitalization and governance renewal committees.

Ms. Downey has more than 25 years of experience in the fields of media relations, communications, public affairs, facilitation, strategic planning and organizational development, in both the public and private sectors. 

Prior to establishing her own consulting firm, Downey Norris & Associates in 1998, Ms. Downey held positions including Vice President of Organizational Performance and Corporate Communications for the Workers’ Compensation Board of Alberta; Director of Communications for the Capital Health Authority; Director of Communications for the Royal Alexandra Hospital; and Executive Director of the Royal Alexandra Hospital Foundation. 

A skilled communicator, Ms. Downey was recognized by the Edmonton International Association of Business Communicators as the Communicator of the Year for 1997-98. Originally from Newfoundland, Ms. Downey resides in Edmonton with her husband Garth Norris. 

Also elected to the Executive Committee at the Association’s 2015 annual general meeting:
•    Vice-Chair: Neil Johnston
•    Treasurer: Karen Davis
•    Past Chairperson: Dean Karakasis

Members of the Board of Directors for 2015/2016 are as follows:
•    British Columbia: Michael Ellis
•    Alberta: Stefan Scott
•    Saskatchewan: Karen Davis (Treasurer)
•    Manitoba: Neil Johnston (Vice-Chair)
•    Ontario: Hélène Michaud
•    Québec: (pending)
•    New Brunswick: Melony McCarthy
•    Nova Scotia: Dan Marcil
•    Prince Edward Island: Vicki Bryanton
•    Newfoundland and Labrador: Mary Basha
•    CTS president: Dr. Diane Lougheed
•    Chair CRHP Leadership Council: Gail Dechman 

The Canadian Lung Association would also like to thank long-standing volunteer and former board chair Dick Shuhany, of Edmonton, Alberta, for his valued contributions during his 15 years of volunteering at both in Alberta and at the national level. Mr Shuhany was recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual general meeting in Ottawa.

The Canadian Lung Association is a non-profit charitable corporation, governed by a volunteer Board of Directors with representation from every province. To find out about Board members at the provincial level, please visit our provincial Lung Association websites.

About The Canadian Lung Association
Established in 1900, The Canadian Lung Association is one of Canada’s oldest and most respected health charities, and the leading national organization for science-based information, research, education, support programs, and advocacy on lung health issues.

AddThis Social Sharing Icon

Page Last Updated: 16/10/2015